ASPHA was established on October 23, 2010 in Nairobi, Kenya with eighteen delegates representing 14 institutions of public health. The association was subsequently registered in Accra (where the secretariat is based), Ghana on November 12, 2010.   The founding member schools of ASPHA are as follows:

  1. Kinshasa School of Public Health, Democratic Republic of Congo
  2. Jimma University, College Of Public Health And Medical Sciences, Ethiopia
  3. School of Public Health, College of Health Sciences, University of Ghana
  4. Moi University, School of Public Health, Kenya
  5. The School of Public Health at Great Lakes University of Kisumu, Kenya
  6. School of Public Health University of Nairobi, Kenya
  7. School of Public Health College of Medicine,  Malawi
  8. Department of Community Medicine, University of Nigeria Enugu
  9. Faculty of Public Health, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  10. School of Public Health, University of Cape Town  South Africa
  11. School of Public Health,   University of Witwatersand, South Africa
  12. School of Health Systems & Public Health, University of Pretoria South Africa
  13. Department of Health Studies UNISA P.O. Box 392 South Africa
  14. School of Public Health, University of the Western Cape, South Africa